Otis & the Grief Goes On…

1017684_10151464961561930_967548134_nOtis

Hello dear friends,

Today’s blog post is long overdue but, first, a tribute to a little kitty named Otis:

Otis left for Rainbow Bridge on July 12, 2013 to reunite with her beloved partner-in-crime, Milo.  She lived to the lovely age of twenty and her spunky ‘person’ality never left her, even in her senior years.  Her fur-mum, Michelle G.B., tells us that her dog and cat duo was the best of friends and when Milo suddenly left them two years ago, Otis was lost.  Michelle, my prayers are with you and, similar to you, my ‘pets’ are also my fur-children.  I truly believe in my heart that they remain with us in Spirit, so be open to their energy, despite not being able to see them in body.  I know that Otis and Milo are happily playing together and continue to watch over you. ♥

♥ ♥ ♥

Grief has been heavy in my heart for the past few months.  As I write this, it has been six months since my dad died.  The experience of losing my little Sebastian and my dad within a year has been difficult.  Like many of you, I read posts regarding grief and loss within social media, in addition to academic research.  To a degree, I do believe that we all have an innate understanding of the grieving process.  This is not intended to undermine the in-depth research completed on grief by pioneer greats, such as Elizabeth Kubler-Ross.  No doubt that these studies have contributed greatly to the topic of grieving and loss that affects each and everyone one us.  However, my point is one cannot – and should not – subscribe to the mentality that grieving needs to take place at a certain time and within a designated pattern.  It IS unique to each of us.  So, take your time and please do not question if you are grieving the right or wrong way.  I have blogged in the past that despite knowing the stages of the grieving process, I still experienced a feeling of disbelief when I lost Sebastian.  I knew he had passed, but it was this surreal experience of his living presence being with me for almost twenty years and then, suddenly, he was no longer there.  It changed the entire way I live my life.  It is true that I often have to remind myself that this IS a process and to just breathe.  So…just breathe.

Today, I struggle with remembering.  When we went for walks, Sebastian would do what I called his ‘happy jaunt’.  The joy I felt when I saw my little man walk ahead of me so free and happy to just be out in the world warms my heart, even now as I recall this.  When I mentally tried to retract the memory of him walking the other day, I could not.  It is like when you hear others saying they cannot remember their loved one’s face or voice.  Ugh.  [Can you hear the crack in my heart?]

I know this memory will come back in time.  For now, I remain complacent and just accept.

In the past, I had an intended subject within each post.  So, please forgive me for today’s discombobulated post.  I wanted to share what I was personally going through these past few months.  I have much more to say on this subject and have a desire to explore others’ views on the experience of grief. Yes, there are those who believe that we can move through this process without the overwhelming sadness!  Let us keep an open mind and heart and consider other ways of grieving.  More on that soon.

Lastly, I want to thank you, the readers, for taking an avid interest in my blog.  I originally started this hoping that a handful of people would read it, especially those that are grieving the loss of their beloved pet(s). What I never expected is that people from all over the world would find their way here! As of today, GOOD GRIEF SEBASTIAN has gained readership from over 43 countries and here are just a few of them: Canada, United States, United Kingdom,  Netherlands, Denmark, South Africa, Ireland, New Zealand, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Finland, Kenya, the Russian Federation, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Croatia, Hong Kong, (and so on) *big smile*.  Nothing makes me happier than to imagine someone finding a smidgen of support here and it is what encourages me to keep writing. With that said, I don’t want to worry any readers who wish to remain anonymous – the stats only indicate the number of readers from the country they are reading from – WordPress does not specify any additional details.  And, please bear with me as I learn how-to blog; it certainly is a learning curve trying to figure out how to post this and link that!

♥ ♥ ♥

Dear Otis, I know that you are in a beautiful place and are comforted to be reunited with your Milo.  Michelle G. B., I am so proud of you for being able to open your heart to another fur-child; there is always enough love to go around.

“No matter how or when we lose our furry friends, their love lasts a lifetime.”

In Gratitude, Mimi

Leave a Reply

